Gold Education

Gold is an international commodity and has international value and so has to conform to certain standards. 24k gold is pure gold, 18k gold is 75% gold, 14k is 58.3% gold and 10k is 41.6% gold. Gold less 24k is mixed with other metals ( usually copper, zinc, silver, nickel, stell or iron) to make a gold alloy. If someone says they're allergic to gold, they probably allergic to one of the other metals in the gold alloy, they should only wear 14k or even 18k gold. 

Diamond Grading,The Four C's

Diamond Education

In order to get perfect diamond there are several factors to consider. Let’s guide you through to help you find the one.

  1. Diamond Color
  2. Diamond Cut
  3. Diamond Clarity
  4. Diamond Carat

The diamond color evaluation of most gem-quality diamonds is based on the absence of color. A chemically pure and structually perfect diamond has no hue, like a drop of pure water and consequently a higher value.

A diamond’s cut is crucial to the stone’s final beauty and value. To determine the cut grade of the standard round brilliant diamond – the shape that dominates the majority of diamond jewelry.

Diamond Clarity Refers to the Absence of Inclusions and Blemishes

Natural diamonds are the result of carbon exposed to tremendous heat and pressure deep in the earth. This process can result in a variety of internal characteristics called ‘inclusions’ and external characteristics called ‘blemishes.’

Evaluating diamond clarity involves determining the number, size, relief, nature, and position of these characteristics, as well as how these affect the overall appearance of the stone. While no diamond is perfectly pure, the closer it comes, the higher its value.

Diamond carat weight is the measurement of how much a diamond weighs. A metric “carat” is defined as 200 milligrams.

Each carat can be subdivided into 100 ‘points.’ This allows very precise measurements to the hundredth decimal place. A jeweler may describe the weight of a diamond below one carat by its ‘points’ alone. For instance, the jeweler may refer to a diamond that weighs 0.25 carats as a ‘twenty-five pointer.’ Diamond weights greater than one carat are expressed in carats and decimals. A 1.08 carat stone would be described as ‘one point oh eight carats.’